Idumea

I have proudly avoided taking the bait when someone is being inflammatory for quite some time. But every once in awhile, I can’t resist. I totally took the bait this morning on an off-handed comment about rape victims. So sue me. It was worth it. I haven’t yelled at anybody in awhile.

If you’ve read my blog, you know that raised eyebrows and lack of respect directed towards women who do not apologize for their bodies has riled me up forever, and unless standards change, I suppose it always will. I’ll remember to keep a hanky in my cleavage for just those purposes.

Speaking of not apologizing for my body, I’m actually interested in my body apologizing to ME. Why when I do something beneficial for you, oh body, like working out and doing 3 sets of 12 reps of Ballet Butt Lifters do you leave me with a sore ass and a bad attitude? Un. Fair.

So, in the interest of good workout music, last night I puttered over to Itunes to download Lady Sovereign’s Love Me or Hate Me. Which I did. BUT I then discovered I-tunes cache of Chorale music and the Alan Lomax collection and ended up in a land of folk music and sacred harp singers. Now, if you aren’t familiar with the Sacred Harp tradition, that’s cool. And by that I mean you are cooler than me for that fact. However, if you choose to take an auditory peek, let me warn you that as far as I can tell, there is a female of the alto/mezzo persuasion and a nasally tenor who show up on EVERY recording and lord help me if they don’t always have the high parts. It sounds like a kazoo with lips and a voicebox. They also tend to hit off-words like “AM” and “OH” and “AND”. I actually picture these people singing as if they were baby birds reaching their necks out of the nest for a worm. Like the dwarf that yodels on Snow White. Seriously, I picture a group of people standing around a music stand, with this lone offender in the background craning their necks to heavens and bellowing out their nasal cadences.

So you might ask yourself, did she download it? Yes, she did.

4 thoughts on “Idumea

  1. Your comments were dead on and I noticed he didn’t respond after your last statement. Misogynistic bastard and the cronies who back him up infuriate me.

  2. I noticed that too. I’m trying so hard not be argumentative, but then how can you not when you’re dealing with a three year old. AGH he makes me so mad. But I suppose that is the point. I’m so glad you saw this!!!!!

  3. I’ve found myself downloading some crazy ass shit on iTunes every now and then. It’s like crack.

Leave a Reply

