Rubbity, Scrubbity, Sweepity

Spring Cleaning is well under way! carol
Although I didn’t get done as much as I wanted to (I never do), I’m pretty happy with the progress. Rooms I can nearly check off my list: Bedroom, SODA, parts of the kitchen, living room…Tonight I will tackle the bathroom.

Anyway, for some before and after action:

Bedroom during cleaning (please not helper atop mattress):

Bedroom after cleaning (please note disgruntled helper):
spring-009
spring-010
spring-016

Um…okay, it’s fairly evident I screwed up posting those, but it’s early and I don’t feel like fixing it.

I would show you the after pictures of SODA, but the before ones are too embarrassing so why even bother?

Meanwhile, I tried and tested many formulations this weekend; my new favorite? Lavender soft scrubber. It’s amazing! It got cooked on grease of my shiny teakettle. It removed spots from the stove. I’m sure it will work on my microwave when I clean that. So, if you are so inclined, here’s the recipe:

Lavender Soft Scrubber

¾ cup baking soda
¼ cup powdered milk
1/8 cup liquid castile soap
5 drops lavender essential oil
Water

Combine baking soda, milk, castile soap, and lavender oil in a squirt top bottle. Add just enough water to make a smooth paste. Shake or stir to mix. Apply to surface, then wipe clean with a damp sponge or cloth. Rinse well.

The combo is also supposed to be good for your hands. I had on gloves, so I don’t know.

Last night I completed most of my mending. A couple socks and a curtain to go.

For all you allergy sufferers out there, I have to tell you that the combo of zyrtec and a neti-pot at the end of the day, while not perfect, really improved my situation.

I also made homemade hamburger buns. For forgetting two ingredients, they weren’t bad. I didn’t even know I forgot the ingredients until while they were baking, I was reading the recipe reviews. One person said, It really is key to heat the water. And I said, “What water?” I also later said, “SALT!” But they are still good, and will be better next time. And SO cheap. One batch makes 25. Which, if you’re doing the math is 3 bags of buns from the store plus 1. Fairly low labor, too. Certainly not as much as bread.

So anyhoo, while the weather may be frightful, I am pulling out all the Spring stops anyway. You guys…I ironed the sheets. And scented them with lavender. I’ll scent anything with lavender if it sits still long enough.

Lessons I learned this weekend: If you discover a particularly filthy place, put the leftover lasagna in the fridge before you start showering the kitchen with mud.

Or I could just dig into my Celtic background and channel Merlin:

5 thoughts on “Rubbity, Scrubbity, Sweepity

  1. I’m weeping with joy that you have discovered the joy of housekeeping. It is not demeaning, it is an art form.

  2. EEk! I love homemade cleaning recipes but I have not experimented much with them. Is the lavender essential to the cleaning process or is it more for aroma….do you think i could substitute tea tree oil for it? Also with the powdered milk in there (I know nothing about powdered milk so please excuse if this sounds ridiculous) should the batch be used right away or refrigerated if there is some left over?

  3. Hi Carrie! How are ya? Lavender is more for aroma, and it’s also gentle on your skin. So, if you were to use this without gloves, I would say go with the lavender. Now, you could easily substitute tea tree AND tea tree would add an antibacterial element to the product. Good question about the powdered milk! I have not refrigerated it, and it seems fine. However, refrigerating would not hurt it at all (you might need to add a little water to the paste if it dries out a little.) When making homemade cleaning products, it’s usually the ones with citrus juices (lemon, grapefruit) that require refrigeration. If you don’t want to go that route, substitute vinegar for the lemon or grapefruit. The smell goes away when it is dried or rinsed. Hope all is well!

  4. Pingback: SPRING CLEANING! « A Rhinestone World

Leave a Reply

