When you’re looking back, it’s nice to clear a path.

Ever since I posted that clip from Sword in the Stone, I can’t get the line, “Hockety pockety wockety wack,” out of my head. And it’s not even from that scene.

So, imagine you were asked to teach a class about you know so far. How would you do it? (Don’t worry, nobody asked me this.) I’m coming up on 5 years (August 9, 2009) in Chicago, and I’ve been thinking about what I could have told myself then about what I know now. About being away from home, family, living as an artist, paying bills, etc.

I mean, if Betsy Now were to teach Betsy Then Life 101, how would she handle it?

Well, obviously she would type up a syllabus. And a reading list. A resource guide. Assignments? Extra credit?

There’s an Indigo girls song that goes, “Every five years or so I look back on my life and I have a good laugh.” So I figure what’s good enough for the Girls is good enough for me.

What would you do? I’m going to think on this one and get back to it.

Leave a Reply

