Diddy wah diddy

There’s a small part of me that sort of wishes I could somehow always live during 1994 on some campus in Vermont during the summer with long hair and rippy jeans and boys that look like Eddie Vedder. I just don’t think I like Rusted Root enough.

Funny thing, though. I have many friends who would contend that I like Rusted Root too much. And I’m not in love with them or anything.

I think my point is that it’s been cold for basically six months and I am willing to live an alternative lifestyle if that’s what it takes to get a little sun up in this thang, y’all. And if that means I have to time travel back to summers in the early nineties when I remember being warm and lazy, then so be it. I added Vermont for color. But any Ohio college campus will do. Yes, I was 13 at the time. But I went to camps at colleges. And watched the Eddie Veddery boys and layed on the grass and got hives. Much like now. But it was WARM.

I mean I am basically so summer-sick I am craving hippies playing djembes and smelling other people’s b.o. I don’t care. I need heat from the actual sun. I need to wear sundresses. I need to get out of the shower, braid my hair and leave the house. I don’t want to layer. I am sick of seeing people’s turd coats on the street. The reason that I live in the Midwest is the same reason I don’t live in Florida. I like FOUR seasons. And it has been winter since November. Not part of the deal.

Alright. There.

Alright, so I said something about a playlist. Yeah…I’ll get around to it. What I want to do is come up with a playlist for wandering around pretty places in Spring weather, but I just can’t do it. Should we be surprised I can’t stay off the Blues channels on Pandora? Little Pink Anderson is the only one that can sing my tune right now. Irma Thomas is the only girl I understand. Leadbelly talk to me baby, tell me all about it. I need people shoutin lyrics that rhyme bunion and onion.

I have a theory, however. I’m going to wallow in the blues….and then my transition will be Leon Redbone. He’s undoubtedly blues…but he’s so damn happy about it. C’mon Leon, help me bring in the Spring.

Leave a Reply

