Shame shame shame

I’m kind of ashamed of myself.

I watched the Susan Boyle interview. And I said this, and I still mean it, can we please stop being surprised that someone who is not “attractive” can sing? Hello? One does not depend on the other. Certainly there are some fantastically attractive people that sound like tone-deaf meat grinders. Why are we surprised when someone like Susan Boyle can sing?

BUT I also said this, look…just pluck her eyebrows, give her better hair, and she won’t look that bad.

WHY did I say that? She doesn’t have to do a goddamn thing! What is wrong with me?!?!?! Jesus. I could smack myself. She put on a special dress and sang her heart out. That’s all she had to do. And she did it.

God, I am horrified at myself sometimes.

So, I’m sorry Susan Boyle. Get it girl. And forgive me. You’re 47 (I also initially balked at that, but you probably are.) I’m 28. You’ve got 19 years on me and you are a cat lady. I should be asking YOU for advice. Ugh. Ugh.

Don’t let “them” get a hold of you.

One thought on “Shame shame shame

  1. Thank you for pointing this out. Looks and talent are not related, though in todays showbiz industry, they pretty much seem to be co-dependent. Janis Joplin and Patsy Cline would have never made it in todays music video driven business model. Though, as always, the double-standard exists… because Billy Joel and other guys who are not lookers would still be successful. And they wonder why so many young women do drastic things to be hot? It’s the only thing that matters, screams the media 24/7.

Leave a Reply

