Hey y’all, prepare yourself

I had a dream I kept underscoring sad, emotional and turbulent moments with the song Rubberband Man.

Obviously this could be interpreted that I insist on spinning everything in a positive manner and denying pain and suffering, sure. But moreover, it’s hilarious.

Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve always loved the phrase “Hot damn.” Don’t know why, it just speaks to me. Probably because it’s usually followed by “…well let’s do it!” I haven’t used it in awhile. I’ll come up with something.

I finally finished The New Feminine Brain last night. Do you know how it ends? With a Marie Curie quote. “Nothing in life is to be feared. It is only to be understood.” And she discovered radioactivity. That is one fearless woman.

It’s a bittersweet day here at a Rhinestone World (I like to pretend I have a fabulous office space). I’m saying goodbye to two dear friends who are leaving our fair city of Wind. One is moving back to New York, and the other is debuting in New York. One has been my friend since 1999, and the other since 2005. They are both gorgeous, hilarious, and as far as I know, don’t read my blog. So you can tell I mean it.

Elizabeth, with whom I share not only interests, but also a name, was my welcoming mat at Miami. She’s just one of those people that makes you feel better when she’s in the room. Once we finished off a gigantic ridiculous margarita (Garth-sized) and passed out in the cargo part of another friend’s mini-van while everyone else watched Pearl Harbor and Atlantis at the drive-in. We were even reviewed for the show Picnic as “Elizabeths Kohart and Pitman.” They pluralized Elizabeth! Amazing. We suffered through long summer theatre shows together. She also has impeccable fashion sense. I am going to miss her a lot. (Cue Rubberband man.)

Allison, who is also departing Chicago, is also hilarious with impeccable fashion sense. However, our friendship started out on a rockier note. Basically we thought of each other as stark raving bitches. And we were. But it gave us some nice friendship leeway. She’s got such a grasp on music theory I’m awed. She’ll say something like…”Well, what if we try a Gminor7 chord?” And say, “Hot damn! What if?” And then I’ll stare at her until she demonstrates rather than me slowly and embarrassingly building said chord from the ground up peppered with “shit…wait wait”‘s.
So the musical theatre community is going to be sadly without one fantastic music director here in Chicago. I”m going to miss that girl. (Cue Rubberband Man.)

I’m doing lunch with one, and dinner with the other. Then tomorrow night we pack for Ohio. This Spring is rocketing by so quickly. Literally, my hair is blowing from it’s breeze right now at my desk. And I don’t have windows. It is blowing due solely to the speed of time. Seriously.

One last thing, for those of you who were in Radium Girls A. Wasn’t that fun? I had fun. B. I am still knitting that godforesaken blanket. I started knitting it in August at the start of Radium Girls rehearsals. I leaned over to Scott (Mr. Roeder) and said, if I can get a panel done every couple of days, I’ll have this thing knitted by October. Scott, however, noticed that I had been knitting the same panel in black for weeks. And so I found myself swearing that by opening night, I would switch to yellow and a new panel. In truth, I’ve had a hard time getting a panel done per month. The whole point in knitting this thing for my brother in law was because he had…key word HAD…an unheated attic apartment in DC at American University. He has since graduated. I am the worst. But I may actually finish it this week. It’s too small. But I figure I can finish it and slowly add panels year by year until it is unweildy and weird. It’s already weird. And covered in cat fur. Cue Rubberband Man.

Leave a Reply

