You down with EDT? Yeah you know me…or rather EDP? That’s what I’m tryin’ to be!

HA HA HA HA HA!!!! I don’t care if you don’t think it’s funny. A good parody of OPP will make me laugh every time.

Between my essential oils, The Bombshell’s post last week, and reading this book on perfumes, I’ve become disenchanted with my signature scents. The present ones will always hold a place in my heart, but they have faded from day to day use. I’ve outgrown some, and placed some in the category of Scent of Major Events. And some I plain don’t like anymore.

These were/are my old standby’s:

1. Ralph Lauren Romance. My late college scent. I also wore it on my wedding day, and now it has sort of become my wedding fragrance. So I don’t want to reinvoke it for daily wear.

2. Calgon Turqouise Seas body spray. I know, I know. What am I? A stripper? No, just a girl who has to rush from one place to another and who requires a shower in a bottle. And frankly, it smells pretty good in my opinion. BUT it is soooooo high school and college Betsy, and I feel I’ve outgrown it.

3. Sarah Jessica Parker, Lovely. Actually, I really dig this fragrance. And it may stay in my rotation.

4. Dolce and Gabbana, Sicily. My first foray into the world of Aldehydes. It was the first really “different” perfume I ever purchased. I like it when I’m feeling ornery. Which is often, I admit. This also may stay in rotation. It’s nice in a sea of Trixies. Girl, I said it. Don’t read it if you don’t like it. It’s like if there was a room full of Hillary Duffs and Sophia Loren busted through.

5. Clean Fresh Laundry. This was given to me as my wedding gift from Will. Therefore, I plan on having this bottle last forever, and as such, can’t have it as daily wear because of that. My perfume book panned it, but I really have always loved the smell of fabric softener and sheets on the line, and that is what this invokes for me. And my honeymoon.

Other perfumes on my vanity include the teensiest little drip left of Amor Amor by Chacharel. I used to love it, but it has become a little collegey to me, too. There are notes that I like, but I have discovered other perfumes that rock those notes better. Sensi, by Armani, because I thought I was buying Sicily. It smells okay. A little sharp, but I’ve gotten compliments on it. No. 5, teensy little sample I’ve been eeking along for years. A classic. Creme Bouquet by Stila, another sample I’ve been eeking. I didn’t like it the first time I smelled it. Now I find it warm and cozy. It might be a little sugary for me, I’m not sure. But the lactonic notes are what I dig. It really is creamy, in a way. Shalimar. It’s so layered and ambery and vanillaey and smells different depending on how long you’ve been wearing it and the story behind it is grand. It’s the idea of Shalimar that is sitting on my vanity, more than the actual perfume. Then there’s Tabu, what I just found out my Grandmother used to wear. I never met her, and having that bottle there is like…I don’t know. A sense of her. I just need to track down Evening in Paris, her other perfume. White Shoulders. I love the bottle, and my Aunt Becky used to wear it. Once I find a bottle of vintage Heaven Sent, my family collection will be nearly complete.

But I’ve been slowly sniffing around town and the internet, looking for the signature scents of 28 year old Betsy, not 21 year old Coco Mademoiselle Betsy. She didn’t quite get the power of scent yet. I mean, she smelled good. But she didn’t think too much into it. Luckily for her, the boys didn’t either. Now we both do.

Sure, I might bust out Shalimar for a trip to the Violet Hour, but I need some solid signatures for Summer Day, Summer Evening, Winter Day, Winter Evening, Casual, and Special Occasion Formal and Special Occasion WATCH OUT! (that’s when I come home with holes in my jeans and someone else’s shoes on…I’m suspecting Angel by Thierry Mugler may be just the thing. It smells like a drag queen…pre-show, of course.)

Nominees thus far:
Dune by Christian Dior. Everything I love about Coco, Allure, Mademoiselle, and Chance and nothing that I don’t like about them. Warm. Oceany in a way, sandy. Subtly spicy. I luuuuurve it. I tried it yesterday and I couldn’t stop smelling my wrist. Or shoving it in other people’s faces.

White Linen by Estee Lauder. Soapier and cleaner than no. 5. Richer than it’s offspring, Pure White Linen. Breezy.

Pure White Linen by Estee Lauder. Sweeter than it’s predecessor. Quieter. Perfect for SPring and Summer days. A major contender. I’ve had more than one person call it “Bridal” but it wasn’t MY bridal.

I have an Amber oil I picked up at Whole Foods that I really like. It’s probably going to be my official casual scent. A male cast member of mine said, “Wow, that’s too wild for me.” Just as I was about to say, “It’s so peaceful and cozy.” Go figure.

Sarah Jessica Parker, Lovely. Makes a nice rehearsal scent. I mean, in rehearsal you can be seriously up on people, and you don’t want to offend. But then Leslie says she thinks it smells likes chemicals. So maybe I’m just fooling myself, but it’s so peachy and apricotty to me, that I like to wear it with sweaters.

Initially I thought, why not just pick something Will likes? He’s the one that has to smell you. But then he picked Tabu, and my Aunt Becky said Oh your grandpa LOVED Tabu on Clara (my Grandmother)…and then told me that Will liking it was a little scary. I’m well aware in some ways I married my grandfather. My favorite photo of us is Gramps babysitting me. My bottle is being held up by a can of Colt 45. But freaking out my family is something else entirely.

And also, I can’t bear to wear a perfume I don’t love from top to toe. I love Tabu for sentimental reasons, but it will be an occasional wear for me. Same with my homemade rosewater.

So trotting off to Ulta I go today. I’m looking for the Bvlgari line (Black and Pour Femme), Badgley Mischka, and a whole bunch of the Estee Lauders I didn’t smell yesterday (Beautiful, Azuree, Knowing and another good sniff of White Linen), and Lolita Lempicka (I’ve smelled it. My Mom used to wear it, but I want to try it on me.

4 thoughts on “You down with EDT? Yeah you know me…or rather EDP? That’s what I’m tryin’ to be!

  1. Your grandma was named Clara? Neato.

    I love all this perfume talk, by the by. It makes me want to go find my signature scent. Kind of like Shelby’s signature color being pink. I don’t think I’ve ever smelled any of those smells you speak of, but should. You’re inspirational to the senses, Ms. Betsy.

  2. I love dropping by your blog now and again to see what random things you are talking about! Have you checked out the scents by Bond no.9 yet? They are a NY company that does scents based on the neighborhoods. I discovered them while living in NYC and just ADORE the idea of each neighborhood’s essence being bottled up for me to wear and smell 🙂 It just makes me incredibly happy. Even if you aren’t familiar enough with NYC to appreciate the scents from that angle, they make some wonderful perfumes.

    P.S. – I never thought I would actually TRULY enjoy the flavor of alcohol until I discover Violet Hour. MUAH!

Leave a Reply

