Godddamn there’s always such a big temptation to be Good

My youngest sister and I drive along I-90. She runs through the selections on my I-Pod shuffle, occasionally stopping to listen to a song, but mostly muttering fake “oopses” when I say, “Hey, don’t skip that! I LOVE Leon Redbone!” While we share some musical tastes (“Summer Breeze” by Seals and Crofts, “Wuthering Heights” by Kate Bush, “Yakety Yak”, Rancid) generally speaking she is unimpressed with the mix I’ve put together.

Some semi-frightening oom-pahs kick in and I settle back into one of my favorite songs. “Who is this?” she says indignantly, “Cookie monster?”

“Tom Waits,” I say quietly.

“You call him whatever you want. That’s cookie monster.”

Well, cookie monster or no, Mr. Waits will be providing some of the soundtrack to our Three Session Viewpoints class beginning this Saturday!
Why the Waits, you may ask? Well, it was sort of a serendipitous meeting of the minds at a Grey Zelda meeting. Who embodies what we want to try/play with? Can we create a performance piece from Tom Waits’ material?

I don’t know, can we? I suspect that yes, we absolutely can, but where does one start? In my world of creation, It’s Viewpoints.

It’s an organized (for lack of a better word) way of thinking and doing something as chaotic as creating a piece of art. Our muse: Mr. Waits. Really all I will be doing is helping to create a physical vocabulary for creation, and then serving as a sort of editor. Perhaps a cinematographer of the brain/body. Let’s collectively draw our creative “eye” to Repetition, for example. What’s interesting here? What can I as a performer do to help/enhance?

So that’s why Waits. And seriously, why wait? (Mwah waaaaaaahhh) Come join us!

Leave a Reply

