Play a song for me, Applejack

Today in “Dear Prudence” on Slate.com, after you pass the letter about the girl that lied about her cuter sister having HIV, after passing the letter about the woman who’s husband is lolling around jolly and naked on her nice furniture, there is a sweet little letter from a 14 year old about to go to high school. The kid still sleeps with a stuffed animal and wants to know if it’s okay to keep doing it in high school.

I find some comfort in the fact that, while everything seems a mess, there are still soon to be freshman curled up with a stuffed dog at night. Personally, I have White Bear. White Bear sleeps in the chair in my bedroom, but he’s there nonetheless and has been since the day I was born. Sure, a more proper name might be “Once was White Bear, but now is Grey Bear,” but that’s beside the point. Isn’t it always okay to have something fuzzy to cuddle up with?

Earlier this week, my family had to put my dog Applejack to sleep. It was the right thing to do. I can’t talk about it too much, because I’m sitting at a front desk and I’m not a pretty crier. But I just wanted to note that fuzzy and loyal are rarely mutually exclusive.

2 thoughts on “Play a song for me, Applejack

Leave a Reply

