Pass the Caramel Corn and Cover Your Eyes!

haunted_house

I blogged about Fall Books yesterday. But my Fall would be incomplete without appropriate movies. Fall movies, for me, cover a wide wide range of genres, but they all share something in common; Autumn.

Every year, I try to mix new with old, meaning (in my case) movies I’ve seen with movies I haven’t seen. This year’s list is no exception. I start out with movies that transition well from summer to fall. Then I move into the back to school area. This is followed by movies of a spookier variety. Then we have the Halloween movies, and we cap it all off with The Dark and Stormies and that gets us to Thanksgiving wherein my Holiday movie watching kicks in.

This year, I’m starting things off with a new selection (aka new to me) entitled Indian Summer. It takes place at a summer camp in early fall. How perfect is that!?! I’ll let you know. Then, I’ll dig into my personal collection and watch Fame!, Dead Poets Society, Clueless, The Paper Chase, The Breakfast Club, maybe even Rudy. At some point, I’ll probably also watch The Program. (Although I may tire of a football-based emotional outburst, and arguably mentally ill behavior surrounding events within the National Football League, it’s a different story if we’re talking college football. I was a die-hard Notre Dame fan -see the very tired but loved #3 jersey in my pj drawer- until they showed their true colors a few years ago with the firing of Ty Willingham, I’m an Ohio State fan, and I’m a Miami of Ohio fan. Heck, I even dig Purdue. So do I love The Program? Yes, I do. And Craig Sheffer’s butt in that uniform ain’t so bad, either.) That back-to-school feeling continues with The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie which is available for instant watching. I may even give Mona Lisa Smile a try. Then it’s time for School Ties, one of my top Fall favorites. Brendan Frasier, Matt Damon, Cute guy that is also in Buffy the Vampire Slayer (the movie), Anthony Rapp, Chris O’Donnell, Ben Affleck, and all other manner of early 90’s heartthrobs who were at one time or another taped to my bedroom wall (alongside Eddie Vedder, Shannon Hoon, Chris Cornell, etc. I love the movie Singles. I should own it, actually) Come to think of it, it’s kind of dumb that I don’t own School Ties. I also recommend Noah Baumbach’s Kicking and Screaming. It’s just brilliant.

That will close up the Back to School section of Fall Movies. We will then transition into the Spooky section of Fall Movies. These are the movies that are sometimes scary, sometimes funny, but not blatantly Halloween. I love The Canterville Ghost, The Addam’s Family and Addam’s Family Values. This is the area where I experiment the most. This year I’m planning on watching movies like Van Helsing and The List. I’m also going to try out Suspiria. I may even throw in The Lady in White. I’ve seen the Lady in White, but it fits the requirements.

Finally, we get to the Halloween movies, beloved in my collection. There’s It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown, Hocus Pocus, The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad, and Sleepy Hollow. Amidst all these titles I’m sure I’ll watch “The Haunted History of Halloween.” Then there’s The Ghosts and Witches of Belgrave Hall, and episode after episode of GHost Hunters. Harry Potter is always fun to watch this time of year. I also like Bell, Book and Candle. Now, I’ve been searching AND searching for my personal Holy Grail of Halloween Movies: Disney’s Halloween Treat. It’s only on VHS. It’s out of print. And the cheapest I’ve found it is for $79.00 on Amazon.com. I don’t know about you, but I think that’s a lot a pumpkin pie dough to pay for a cassette. But it’s so perfect. I just wish Disney would un-vault that sucker and put it on dvd. (The Disney Vault and I have some business to attend to, and I always come out on the wrong end.) Anyway, if you know what I’m talking about, and you know where I can view or purchase Disney’s Halloween Treat…please. Please tell me what you know.

UPDATE: It is available to watch on You Tube in 10 minute sections. Not ideal. But I’ll make do.

Once Halloween is over, I move into The Dark and Stormies. Frankenstein, The Ninth Gate, Dracula, The Witches (both Roald Dahl and the bizarre 1969 Joan Fontaine vehicle.), The Watcher in the Woods, The Prophecy, any number of slashers, Devil’s Advocate, The Haunting, perhaps The Corpse Bride, The Exorcist, and Rosemary’s Baby.

So what do you watch in the fall? Got any suggestions for me? Beautiful autumn landscapes, craggy scary forests, spooky historical tales…I’ll take any suggestions!

4 thoughts on “Pass the Caramel Corn and Cover Your Eyes!

  1. I can’t help feeling that Coraline needs to find a place on your list – and, forgive me, have you ever seen Mary Reilly? (IE, Julia Roberts plays the maid to Jekyll/Hyde, as played by Malkovich?) It was part of that short and wonderful time period where big screen adaptations of horror classics was cool – Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Kenneth Branaugh’s Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein – and god help me, I enjoyed it. 🙂

  2. Have you ever watched The Omen (the original version)? Omen 2 is pretty cool too and has some nice crow/raven imagery which makes me very happy.

    Oh, throw The Others in there, too, as that’s always wonderful.

  3. I can’t believe I forgot the Omen! I LOVE the Omen! British people, fall, AND Gregory Peck!

    But the Omen too…and the Others! Onto the queue they go. Although, due to a group of my friends who thinks it’s fun to blow movie endings for people, I actually know the end of The Others. Howev, as I said, I’m all about the atmosphere, so I don’t care!

  4. Pingback: Golden and Glowing by Autumn « A Rhinestone World

Leave a Reply

