One’s primary purpose at university level is to learn how to think

To think like John Singleton. But I’ll get to that later.


My reaction when I saw this was “*gasp!*” and then “Oh my god” said on the continued inhale of the gasp.

Somebody hand me five grand and a ticket to a ball. I’ve got a dress to wear. Oh Marchesa. Will you please please consider some pro bono work?

I haven’t mused about perfume in awhile. Today I’m wearing YSL Paris which is considered by the Perfumes book to be a “Roaring Rose.” For me, it’s a Juicy Rose. It smells like a rose you want to stick a straw into and drink. I know it’s loud. I know it’s unapologetic. I know it might be too much for close quarters, but I also fear the same could be said of me.

I also think YSL Paris could benefit from a leather jacket. The contrast would be divine. As you can see above, I love contrast.

Rehearsal continues and is as fruitful as a bottle of Badgley Mischka. The key, I have learned, to this particular script is the transitions. The show is prop heavier than I imagined, but we are moving nearly set-free. At this point, we are using three key pieces of structure. Other than props, that’s it. I really do need to make a trip to Joann’s, however.

And finally, in movie news, I watched High Learning. After recovering from my headache due to being beaten about the head with the film’s message, it was fun to see a movie (new to me) full of scads of early nineties workhorses. I’m talking Kristy Swanson, Omar Epps (in very nearly the same role as he plays in The Program, martyr sequence notwithstanding), Andrew Bryniarski (an actor of mass proportion who has made a career of playing entirely unsavory characters, and thus suffers from “that guy”* syndrome), Cole Hauser, Michael Rapaport, Regina King, Adam Goldberg, Brigitte Wilson (a woman born to wear suprisingly feminine combinations of ripped denim, tights, and leather), Jason Wiles, and Randall Batinkoff (another That Guy). It’s got something for everyone: sex, violence, lesbian kisses, skinheads, flannel. Lots and lots of flannel. When I was in middle school, minus the violence and racial tension, this is how I though college would be. A mix of this, Kicking and Screaming, and PCU.

I also had two “I’ve never heard of John Singleton” conversations yesterday. At the end of one, I kind of felt like I had seriously failed to live in “the now.” At the end of the other one, I felt myself cursing 22 year olds for completely missing what I consider an important era in filmmaking – the Early to Mid 90’s. I now give you Higher Learning’s Busta Rhymes (start at :30):

* That Guy Syndrome – attributed to actors who evoke the recognitive response, “Hey! It’s That Guy!” upon viewing a film in said actor’s cannon.

Leave a Reply

