MOVIE HERO OF THE WEEK!* – Kristy Swanson

I yammer on and on about the early 90’s and its films, so I thought I should go ahead and present to you the Queen of the Early 90’s: Kristy Swanson. I love her. She is funny. She is adorable. And she is in a lot of movies I like.

People rave about Buffy the Vampire Slayer and my shoulders always slump when I discover they are talking about the goddamn tv show. I don’t like Sarah Michelle Gellar, and have yet to discern why anyone else would. Kristy was the original Buffy and will never be topped. She was hilarious. She was cute. And she got the joke. She also put together the best prom ensemble, perhaps of all time. Ballet-inspired dress and hair, Pike’s leather jacket and a wooden stake. Hot. The next event I attend may have elements of this. I’m obsessed with leather jackets and buns right now. (Re: my love of contrast.)

I tied a red ribbon in my hair when I went to bed for weeks after I watched that movie hoping to evoke…I don’t know. Not to invoke Rutger Hauer. That’s for sure.

She also plays a supporting role in The Program, a movie I adore, for some ungodly reason.

In an episode of Law and Order: SVU, she plays a character very very similar to Anna Nicole Smith and frankly, rocks it.

She also has a notable moment in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (Starts at :12):

And, apparently, she’s a Steeler’s fan.

“All I want to do is graduate from high school, go to Europe, marry Christian Slater, and die. Now it may not sound too great to a sconehead like you, but I think it’s swell. And you come along and tell me I’m a member of the hairy mole club so you can throw things at me? ” Get it, girl. So, into the queue goes The Chase, Living Death, and Flowers in the Attic. Ms. Swanson, I salute you.

*What is a movie hero? An un or under-sung member of the filmmaking community who deserves more of the spotlight. And yet lack of such a spotlight often adds to their charm.

2 thoughts on “MOVIE HERO OF THE WEEK!* – Kristy Swanson

  1. Funnily enough, a few months back I randomly wound up watching the original “Buffy” movie at home, and did a blog post about how much I loved it. Based on blog stats, searches for “Buffy” and “Kristy Swanson” have led more people to my blog than any other post, so prepare yourself. 🙂

    That said, she’s fabulous.

  2. Pingback: Happy Rex Manning Day! – Fall Fashion Lookbook 2011 « A Rhinestone World

Leave a Reply

