If you can’t dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bull – WC Fields

I checked two movies off The List this weekend.

The first was my first forray into the work of WC Fields. As with many of the old iconic comic legends, I bumped into the parody before the person.

I had hesitated on seeing a Fields movie. From all accounts I’ve read of this guy, he sounded like a real asshole, truth be told. But I was pleasantly surprised. It’s a Gift was funny. Truly, honestly, no-need-to-qualify-it-as-an-old-movie-funny. There were some truly obnoxious (on purpose) characters, and I probably won’t watch it again. But I laughed. Even to the point of repeating a few lines to myself just because I enjoyed them so much.

The film is timeless. Sure they head off to California in an old jalopy, but the jokes still play. And we still have the American Dream. So if you’ve avoided WC Fields like I have, don’t fear It’s a Gift. Is actually is.

On the complete other end of the spectrum from down home good ol’ American comedy would be disturbing and ahead of its time British intellectual horror films. Meet Peeping Tom. Peeping Tom is a great horror flick and the reason is we care about our Peeping Tom. We care about him via Helen, his neighbor and friend. When sizing Helen up, the quote from Jim Carey’s The Grinch came to mind, “Sweet kid. Baaaaad judge of character.”

Now, I have been accused of saying everything is a phallic symbol (because everything is), but let me tell you I never really thought a camera could be one. Was I ever wrong!

Peeping Tom is artful, vulnerable, and vicious.

On to things other than movies: Do you know a receptionist? Do you think they would fill out a fun survey? If so, let me know, and I will send it along. All in the name of my Project of the moment!

One thought on “If you can’t dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bull – WC Fields

Leave a Reply

