Golden and Glowing by Autumn

It's Fall, Y'all!

I’ve mentioned before how much I love Autumn.  Truly September through December is one big freakin’ holiday as far as I’m concerned.  I love traditions and there is something about the fall that just drips with tradition and ritual.  A couple weeks ago, my sister-in-law and I were getting mutually pumped up about fall and the things we love to do.  She likes to have a pot of soup simmering away on the stove while she puts together scrapbooks and watches college football and the Steelers.  If she’s anything like her brothers, I assume the soup ends up being sprayed all over the room and all the pictures ripped to hell.  Whatever floats your boat.

I, too, like a pot of something savory bubbling on the stove.  My craftiness lends itself more in the knitting and sewing direction.  In fact, I am just now completing a fall apron.  A few years ago, I found a couple yards of the most fabulous autumn toile.  Instead of the traditional French country scene, however, this fabric has a vintagey-50’s country scene with jack-o-lanterns, harvesty wheat and a hayride.  I adore it.  So much so I couldn’t figure out what to do with it.  A skirt?  A throw pillow?  A tablecloth?  I eventually decided on an apron.  My favorite thing in my favorite fabric.  It will not only be my fall puttering apron, it will serve as decoration when it’s hanging up.  I have another autumnish apron from my Mom and a vintage one that should blend nicely.  I’d like to have aprons for every season.  Summer and spring are fairly covered due to the bright florals of typical aprons.  I have two Christmas aprons, although I would like to make another.  And winter definitely calls for a cozy flannel, I think.

There is just so much to see and do in Autumn.  Books to read.  Movies to watch.  Food to eat.   I occasionally wonder how I wasn’t born a Scorpio.  No matter.  I married one.

Each month of Autumn has a particular feel, I think.  September is very much about Back to School.  October, of course, is a bit spooky and mischevious with gorgeous colors, and November is somewhat dark and cozy.  I like to watch certain movies during certain months.  Have certain foods as well.  I sort of got a little ahead of myself this year and already made a typical September recipe in August, and watched Sweeney Todd (a November pick) last Saturday.  Ah well.  Patience is not my personal virtue.   Although, Hope, it should be noted is my middle name.

Get a load of these pumpkins!

The following are lists of SOME of the fun things I like to do when the breezes turn chilly, and the leaves get crazay.

SEPTEMBER

New clothes
New office supplies
Big Seasonal Scrub and Organization
Getting rid of old stuff
Initial fall decorating (no Halloween stuff, yet)
Apples
Late summer vegetables: corn, tomatoes
Three Sisters Soup (try tempering in a beaten egg at the end) Serve with cornbread.
Joann’s, Home Goods, and Kohls for fall candles and crafty stuff
Fall table setting
Corn chowder with homemade bread grilled cheeses or cheddar biscuits
Trip to the library
Fidget Pie
New perfect Fall sweater (this year, brown)
Michaelmas – blackberry stuff on September 29
Fall wreath
Order Halloween and Fall Items from the Victorian Trading Company
Fall essential oils
NEST pumpkin chai candle
Football – tailgating, hot chocolate
Pumpkin lattes from Starbucks
Autumn in a jar

Witchay Woman

OCTOBER

Spooky movies
Halloween parties
Fun movie nights with warm snacks and mulled cider wine
Fun spooky ipod lists: Bewitched, I Put a Spell On You, Jill Tracy songs
Planning and making Halloween costumes
My Fall Festival:  Fall stew, Sleepy Hollow, and Cider cocktails with apple dumplings and whipped cream
Trips to occult bookstores
Tarot readings
Lighting candles for those we miss
Pumpkins and Jackolanterns
Taffy Apples
Pumpkin patch/Farmer’s Market
Preserve leaves
Use pumpkin as a vase and as a toureen
Fall picnic
Vanilla candles
Pumpkin scents
IKEA
Scary books
Pumpkintinis
Football
Winter clothes out, summer clothes away
Baked Oatmeal
Ghost Tour
Donuts and Cider

Now Is The Pilgrim Year Fair Autumn's Charge

NOVEMBER

This year, we are trying to plan a fun fall getaway to a friend’s lake house
Nights with books and a pot of tea
Planning for Thanksgiving
Butternut squash
Early Christmas planning
Caramel Corn
Scary, Gothic books
Ghost stories

Truly in my head I am wearing a navy toggle sweater, holding a huge bunch of colorful leaves, wrapped in a plaid blanket with hot cider, and donuts (a huge dose of Zyrtec) on a big pile of hay, singing “Ichabod Crane” from Disney’s Legend of Sleepy Hollow.  Almost makes ya miss youth group.

Almost.

One thought on “Golden and Glowing by Autumn

  1. Pingback: Fall! « A Rhinestone World

Leave a Reply

