I’m Going to Need a Bigger Closet

Fashion Post

I am on a bit of a fashion kick.  These January clearance sales have me doing a two-step.  I’ve also recently happened upon some very cool DIY fashion blogs that are charming and packed full of ideas.  A few I recommend checking out:

  • What I Wore
  • I Want To Be Her (Not exactly homegrown.  It’s run and designed by Andrea Linnet, formerly the Creative Director of Lucky Magazine and co-author of two of my favorite fashion books AND Anne Johnston Albert, fashion designer of the Martin clothing line and artist for the blog)  My entire life, I have been comforted and inspired by fashion renderings.  My Mom was a fashion design major at the school of the Art Institute in Pittsburgh.  She had this huge portfolio of drawings with exaggerated lines, big lashy eyes, and beautiful colors.  This site evokes that for me.  Meanwhile Lucky Magazine (which used to be my fave) had a big staff shimmy shake and booted their Editor-in-Chief, Kim France (another co-author of the Lucky Guides.)  Andrea Linnet followed.  I picked up my first non-France/Linnet Lucky and I did not like what I saw.  Very few mid-priced pieces.  Almost no low.  No delightful Anne Johnston Albert sketches.  No more Lucky for me.  However, my heart skipped a beat when I discovered I Want to Be Her.

The thing I love about these blogs is that they transcend any current trends.  They are creative, bold, and unabashedly wearing what they like.


MY CURRENT INSPIRATION

As I said, I’ve been doing a bit of shopping…ahem.  A bit.

I have very lately been inspired by

um

Jaws.

It’s true.

They’re going to need a bigger boat.

I mean look at Roy Scheider!  He’s chic!  That watch!  The nicely fitted sweater.  The chambray!  The sweatshirts!  You can’t see it in the pic, but I happen to know they are wearing white sneaks.  (You could say I’ve seen the film a few times.)  I love the idea of menswear, not so much in the wingtips and fedora vein, but in the sweatshirts and sneaks vein.

What is more all-American than a white tshirt, floppy hair, and a day at the beach?

It seems dorky at first, but check out the watch and the ring.  It’s kinda sexy.  Plus I love a raglan sleeve gray sweatshirt.

Sure, she’s fleeing certain death, but look at her hair!

I had a hard time finding pics that really showed off the character of Ellen Brody and her smooth style.  She’s got great hair tied up with scarves and bandannas, cool gold hoops, and long swingy sweaters.  For a weeknight at home, this is chic little impromptu dinner party.

Sure, Chief Brody looks a little stressed here but look at Ellen’s beach getup! And look at how nat a navy t can be.

Another comfy but sexy Ellen B. getup.  And my favorite line of the movie, “Wanna get drunk and fool around?”

So, in honor of one of my favorite movies of all time, and in the spirit of the eventual summer that will find us again, my Polyvore creation, Jaws:

Hot Toggle Cardigan
$75 – modcloth.com
Floral print tops »

Old Navy Women’s Perfect Tees
$7.50 – oldnavy.gap.com
Short sleeve tops »

Distressed denim jacket
$117 – theoutnet.com
Long sleeve jackets »

BDG Wool Captain’s Hat
$9.99 – urbanoutfitters.com
Urban hats »

Gap Ribbed Knit Beanie
$17 – gap.com
Beanie hats »

Fun Plastic Glasses
$45 – jessicasimpsoncollection.com
Plastic shades »

4 thoughts on “I’m Going to Need a Bigger Closet

  1. I love Kendi Everyday! Have you checked out academichic? It’s one of my favorites. I think it would be totally up your alley.

    I also enjoy Smiles Go with Everything (although she’s gotten away from so many fashion-y posts as of late) and What Andie Wears, mainly because these ladies are closer to my size. Also, as someone who lives in a smallish town, their clothing choices tend to be slightly more accessible for me.

    What are your thoughts on belts (worn at the waist) over cardigans?

  2. I’ve done the skinny belt over a cardigan with a sheath dress, but I am short-waisted with big boobs so it isn’t the best combo for me. What’s throwing me for a loop is the belt over the scarf thing! I mean, I can’t conceive of that not adding so much bulk! Plus with boobs it just seems like a wall of fabric. I like having the boobs, but I hyyyaaaaaate looking matronly. Have you done it?

    I am so on the gingham shirt train right now, though. And I’m considering doing the tights with the cutoffs. It’s like permission from middle school Betsy. Shorts and tights. Used to be my fave. Got me a lot of heat in Archbold in 6th grade but it was the hottest thing when I lived in Angola. Not that I want to relive the most awkward age of my life (sixth grade in Archbold) but I do want to win. I think me wearing tights with shorts as a 29 year old means I win.

    I digress.

    I do read academichic! I need to check out those other ones you recommended, too. What I Wore Today (linked above) has a great bloglist, too.

  3. I picked up a couple of belts at Le Goodwill just to play around with, but can’t make myself leave the house wearing one. I love the way it looks on other people. Not so sure about myself yet. I really don’t think I could pull of the belt over a scarf thing. Pretty sure it would make me look like a bag lady.

    I am very into gingham and plaid shirts right now! I picked up a super cute plaid flannel with some really feminine details that I LOVE. Ed makes fun of the ruffles, but I so don’t care. I’m on the prowl for a gingham button down, too.

Leave a Reply

