The 30 for 30 Winter Challenge

Fashion Post

I’m considering entering Kendi Everyday’s 30 for 30 Winter Challenge.

Here are the rules (per Kendi):

1. Pick 30 items or less from your closet. Shoes are included, but accessories and jewelry are not.

2. Remix the 30 items into 30 different outfits.

That’s it! Well not entirely so..

3. Don’t shop for 30 days.

Why in the world would I add insult to injury, you ask? Because of two reasons: 1) so you’ll learn to shop your own closet and 2) so you’ll appreciate it. So many times I’ve run out and bought a new dress for one event or I bought something because I felt lacking and not what was in my closet. Obviously, this is not the best solution to a problem. I have found that when I limit myself with shopping, with 30 items, I become so much more aware of what I have versus what I need. By the end of the 30 days, I am ready to shop, but with new eyes of what I really need.

I actually already signed up, and will probably do it, I just have a few hesitations.

1.  My photography skills are abysmal.  I’m also hard up on well-lit professional looking backgrounds.

2.  I will have to convince Will to take pictures of my outfits shortly after he wakes up.

3.  My laziness.

Still, one of my goals for the year is to look at my closet more imaginatively.  In the spirit of things, I’ve created a Polyvore set with my intended 30 for 30 items.  (Ignore prices or labels.  Some of these items I own, some of these things just look like items I own.)

 

Betty Paige print T-shirt
115 GBP – harveynichols.com
Cotton tees »

Petite 3/4 slv leopard print cardigan
75 GBP – houseoffraser.co.uk
3 4 cardigan »

Oldbury Classic Shirt
$69 – jackwills.com
Slim fit tees »

36 White TShirt
28 GBP – coggles.com
Logo tops »

Ambsn Haggar Shirt
$40 – swell.com
Plaid tops »

Black bird print top
30 GBP – debenhams.com
Tie blouses »

Pinstripe suit trouser
30 GBP – karenmillen.com


Sienna mid-rise skinny jeans
$44 – theoutnet.com
Faded jeans »

HIGH-HEEL BOOT
$169 – zara.com
Knee high heel boots »

SmackyGlam Oxford Bottie
$64 – maruione.jp
Sparkly shoes »

Cotton V Neck Cardigan
25 GBP – uniqlo.com


The total count is:

4 tees

4 sweaters

3 shirts

3 skirts

3 shoes

2 cardigans

2 blouses

2 pants

2 boots

1 hoodie

1 vest

1 dress

1 jean

1 cord

=

30 items

The challenge I think will really center around office wear and rehearsal wear (workout wear is not included in the 30 for 30, so if I have a dance rehearsal I will wear dance apparel).   Due to my two-job life, I usually end up wearing two different outfits per day with complete different requirements for function.

Once I nail down the actual items I will be using, I will post.  Let me know if you are joining in!

3 thoughts on “The 30 for 30 Winter Challenge

  1. I considered doing this one, but I’m sitting it out, I think – I just started my no shopping year and I think, for the first few months at least, I’m gonna need a lil flexibility to keep me going.
    I’m also going on vaca right in the middle and that’s not going to work – Chicago clothes won’t translate to Jamaica . . .
    But good luck! I’m looking forward to it!

  2. I love your new blog! Kendi does a 30 for 30 every season, so there are many opportunities. I just stumbled upon her blog a couple months ago through Blue Collar Catwalk (love).

    (I might cheat on February 21…its’ my birthday. I probably won’t buy anything, but I reserve the right to wear a fun dress…heh.)

    Have a great time in Jamaica!

  3. I am es-scared to do zees. But I look forward to seeing what you come up with! Also, please tell me you actually own the Frye t-straps.

Leave a Reply

