Blizzaster Preparedness – Day 1 of the 30 for 30 Winter Challenge

I look sort of tired and constipated in the first photo.  I also didn’t do my hair or makeup.  Ah well.  That’s what a blizzard does to a person.

So, here is what I wore for Blizzaster 2011:

Day 1 of 30 for 30

Finn helps out.

I used a vintage feature while photo editing because it reminds me of my parents’ pics of the Blizzard of ’78 in Ohio.

K.  So.  The sweater is a gigantic dramatic one from Victoria’s Secret.  I love it.  I love the drama.  However it’s also completely cozy.

The cords are Old Navy in an olive green.  I love deep jewel tones with neutrals.

The clogs are Candies.  Um.  Okay.  So I actually wore snowboots most of today, but the Candies were part of the concept of the outfit.

In order to remain decent, I put on a black tshirt underneath the sweater.  Otherwise it would have Boob-saster 2011.

I suppose I could have bothered to accessorize, but I kind of forgot because I was so worried about getting to work!

What a start to this challenge!

Still, I think the 30 for 30 is about real life, and this was absolutely a nuts real life kind of day!!!  It’s funny because my day job has a pretty conservative business dress code…that is to say NOT business casual.  But this week of all weeks we have had three jeans days in a row because of the weather.  I chose cords instead because I felt like they would repel snow better than jeans.  I was right!  They dried really quickly, and the texture helped brush the snow off.  I mused on a friend’s blog that a cord skirt might have been ideal (she bravely donned a skirt today).

Tomorrow will present another fashion challenge.  The windchill is supposed to be 30 below zero!!!  I have no idea what I’m going to wear.  Sort of.  I know I’ve got 30 choices!

3 thoughts on “Blizzaster Preparedness – Day 1 of the 30 for 30 Winter Challenge

  1. “Boob-saster 2011”, hee hee.

    Maybe I should document a month worth of clothes – It may make me branch out and wear more than cords, v-necks and boots.

Leave a Reply

