A View from the Homefront – Day 2 of the 30 for 30 Winter Challenge

There is a connection...just read on

It really does feel like we’ve been through some sort of battle and now it’s a weird white post-snowpacalytpo world out there.

Of course the real question is, “But what will I wear?!”

Before I get to that, it has been announced that tomorrow is ANOTHER office jeans day.  With the assumption they are doing this for our comfort level, I see no reason not to wear something slightly dressier if I want to.  My be-fri and I are going out for a joint birthday celebration tomorrow (she’s a New Year’s Baby and mine is coming up) so I have to at least try a little, you know?  What kind of a Chicagoan would I be if I let snow get me down?  I ask you. Plus I chose my 30 for 30 items based on the fact that 40 hours of my week are spent at my day job.  I’m running out of casual-wear already!

But, for Thursday, the day after the storm, I took refuge in jeans day and wore the now fashion-blogger ubiquitous gingham shirt.  And today, as opposed to yesterday, I really like my hair (you should also know…or maybe you shouldn’t…it’s filthy.  No way was I going to get my head wet in this weather).You see, I just closed up a production of Kiss Me Kate, a show that had been running since mid-November so the 40’s hairdos are here to stay for me.  I’ve always been a fan, but now it just feels natural.

Backstage at Kiss Me Kate - I played, appropriately, the Wardrobe Lady. The dress is real 40's vintage! (So are the shoes...but those kids aren't in the picture.)

Another 40's incarnation - this time more subtle. Ha! Except for the evil grin, that is. Gingham - tied at the waist with character shoes at a pickup rehearsal.

So with all that background mumbo jumbo, here is Day 2 of the 30 for 30 Winter Challenge:

Day 2 of the 30 for 30 Winter Challenge

Okay, so I know the photo is, um, lacking.  But here’s the thing, Will took as he was headed out to shovel our car out of a snow bank.  I had no room to be picky.  Also, you’ll notice I can’t take a picture without a cat in it.  I consider him an accessory because I certainly wouldn’t wear him alone.  I show you this photo only to document that indeed I am continuing on with the project.  Better photos coming when William isn’t rushed.  He’s a good photographer.  But not when he’s got shoveling on the brain.

That said:

Cardigan – Zara, Shirt – Old Navy, Tshirt – Hanes (Target), Jeans – H&M, Boots – JCPenney

Bear socks (not visible) gift shop in Cooke City, Montana.  Huz purchased them for me on our ‘moon. 🙂

In total, I have on 4 tops (1 cardigan, 1 gingham shirt, 1 tshirt, and 1 silk long john shirt), 3 bottoms (jeans, long johns and dance tights), plus a pair of bear socks, and boots.  -30 windchill my friends.  What’s funny is, I’ve worn less clothes and felt much bulkier.

Anyway, this outfit feels very “Betsy” to me.  I’m calling it my Winter Victory Garden look.  The hair and cardigan/button-down combo feel a bit 1944 Homefront to me.  Kind of like something my American Girl doll, Molly, would have worn after school.

 

2 thoughts on “A View from the Homefront – Day 2 of the 30 for 30 Winter Challenge

  1. Great remix choices so far! I love gingham, and I LOVE that you’re drawing inspiration from the ’40s–it’s one of my favorite fashion eras.

  2. I have to say, I LOVED your hair in the show, Betsy. In fact, I loved all the hair for the women — appreciated that they didn’t use tacky character wigs.

Leave a Reply

